Keeping your portfolio up-to-date with TradeStops is key to getting your alerts on time for all your positions. An out-of-date portfolio could lead to missing positions in your portfolio.

Let’s review how to keep your portfolio in sync.

Accessing Your Portfolios

It is a great idea to check on your portfolios at least once a week. Sometimes sync errors can occur, and then we might not import your newly purchased positions or we might keep a closed position as active. You can help this process, and it’s easy.

When you are in TradeStops, go to the Portfolios Tab.

Then, check your sync date.

sync date

You want this sync date to be either today or yesterday’s date. Note that manual portfolios will say N/A. This is okay. Only synced portfolios will have sync dates.

The photo was taken on 10/17, and you can see the sync date is 10/17. This means that portfolios 4215 and 5555 are syncing properly and without error.

What should I do if my sync date isn’t today or yesterday’s date?

If your sync date isn’t today or yesterday’s date, you need to refresh your portfolio. It only takes a few steps.

  1. Click the small downward-pointing triangle to the left of your portfolio name.
  2. Then, click Synchronize.
  3. Finally, click Refresh.

refresh portfolio

The page will then load, and your portfolio will refresh. Do not close (x out of) the Refresh loading page. It might take a couple minutes, but your portfolio will refresh.

If you feel that the Refresh process is taking too long, that’s okay. Just follow the same steps as above, but click Update instead. You will then be prompted to enter your broker credentials. Make sure to enter your broker credentials and NOT your TradeStops credentials.

Why does my portfolio say Resolve and have a red triangle?

You might notice that your portfolio says Resolve with a red triangle.

portfolio with error

This means that something went wrong in the connection between your broker and us. Just click the Resolve button. In the box that appears, enter your broker credentials NOT your TradeStops credentials. Enter your credentials exactly as you would if you were logging into your broker site.

An error happened when I entered my credentials. Now what?

Sometimes an error might occur when you enter your credentials. We will provide you with an error code. Write down the error code.

The Common Errors:

  • 403, 409, 412, and 413: These errors will normally go away on their own. If these errors continue for more than 3 days, please contact us.
  • 402: This means your username or password was entered incorrectly. Please try again. Make sure to use your brokerage credentials-not your TradeStops credentials!
  • 407: This means your account is locked. This happens if you enter the incorrect brokerage credentials four times. Contact your broker to get your account unlocked.
  • 428 & 429: This means that you must log into your brokerage firm and update something. This could be accepting new terms & conditions or updating your personal information.
  • 518 & 522: This means that your extra security wasn’t entered in time. This could be your security questions & answers or your token.

You can read about known broker issues here.

Let’s Review what you can do with a 402 error

If you use something to help remember your password to TradeStops, the pop-up screen might display your TradeStops credentials for you automatically.

update broker credentials

You DO NOT want to use this information. Delete anything that is already typed into the boxes for you. Then, type your broker credentials.

If the 402 error happens again, go to your broker’s website. Try typing in the same credentials that you tried to enter in the pop-up screen. Remember, do not to use anything that is already typed in for you. This will ensure that you are using the correct credentials on TradeStops for your broker.

If you can log in with the credentials you entered in the pop-up box, that means there might be another underlying issue. You’ll need to email the customer success team. Tell them: “I have a 402 error code. My credentials match what I use to log into my broker. Here is where I login: (provide the website).”

I accidentally deleted a synced position. What do I do now?

If you accidentally delete a synced position, there’s no need to worry. You can restore the deleted position.

To restore a deleted synchronized position, take the following steps:

  • Click on the Portfolios tab in the main menu at the top of the page.
  • Next, click the downward-pointing triangle to the left of your portfolio name. Then, click synchronize.
  • The following pop-up will appear:

click Restore

  • Click the Restore button.

Once completed, locate the restored position(s), and add the necessary alert(s) on the Positions & Alerts page.

I added an account at my broker. Why isn’t it here?

If you have imported your brokerage accounts into TradeStops, and subsequently add a new account to that same brokerage platform, you can use our “Import Missing Portfolios” feature.

To bring over just those new accounts, take the following steps:

  • Click on the Portfolios tab in the main menu at the top of the page.
  • To the left of your portfolio name, click on the downward-pointing triangle. Then, click synchronize.
  • In the screen that appears, click Import.

click Import

Your new portfolios will be pulled in & can be viewed in your Portfolios List. Click the Portfolio to view the positions and apply new alerts.

Why does my portfolio have a (2)?

You might have noticed that one of your portfolios has a 2 in parenthesis.

duplicate portfolio

This happens if you import the same portfolio more than once. It is a duplicate. In the photo above, you can see that I have two copies of portfolio 5555.

What should I do with a duplicate portfolio?

That is up to you. There really is no need to have copies of the same portfolio. If you have automatic alert creation set up, you would be getting copies of all your alerts. That would take up too much room in your email’s Inbox!

So… you can simply delete this duplicate portfolio. The process is easy.

  1. To the left of your portfolio, click the small white box. It will turn into a green check mark.
  2. Then, click delete at the bottom of the page.

deleting a portfolio

The duplicate portfolio will then be deleted.

What should I do if I have questions?

We understand that we covered some of the more advanced techniques in TradeStops. There is a lot to learn in Marina’s half-hour training and in this article.

If you want some more guidance, give the customer success team a call at 866-385-2076. They are available Monday-Friday from 9:00AM-5:00PM.

Marina and I wish you nothing but success with your TradeStops program. We hope that these trainings have helped you and that you learned more about our system.

Have a wonderful day,

Beverly Becker

Social Media & Web Content Specialist

Back to the Knowledge Base or Continue to TradeStops