Closing a position instead of deleting it will keep a record of your gains and losses on your “closed positions” page.

IMPORTANT: Sold synchronized positions (partial or complete) should automatically update. It can take 1 to 3 days for these positions to update, though.

click the triangle and click close

To manually close an entire position that has been sold, take the following steps:

  • Click on the Positions & Alerts tab (1) in the main menu at the top of the page.
  • Click on the Positions tab (2).
  • Select the box on the row of the position you would like to close (3).
  • Click on Close Position (4), and the Close Position window will display as follows:

closed positions form

  • Enter/edit the Close Date (1). It will default to today’s date.
  • Enter the Close Price (2).
  • Enter the Brokerage Commission, if applicable (3).
  • If you would like to set a Re-Entry Rule alert on this position and have it entered into your Watch Portfolio, select Yes for “Set Re-Entry Alert” (4).
  • Click the OK button (5), and the position will be moved to the Closed Positions page.

NOTE: Closing an entire position deletes all alerts added to the position and increases the number of available alerts.

Related Articles

Closed