IMPORTANT: Sold synchronized positions (partial or complete) should automatically update. It can take 1 to 3 days for these positions to update, though.

click the triangle and click close position

To close a position that has been partially sold, take the following steps:

  • Click on the Positions & Alerts tab (1) in the main menu at the top of the page.
  • Next, click on the Positions tab (2).
  • Click on the down arrow in the Actions column. Click Close Position (3), and the Close Position window will display as follows:

close position form

  • Enter/Edit the Close Date. It will default to today’s date.
  • Enter the Close Price.
  • Enter the Brokerage Commission, if applicable.
  • Click to place a check mark in the Partial Close box (1).
  • Enter the number of Shares To Sell (2).
  • If you would like to set a Re-Entry Rule alert on this position and have it entered into your Watch Portfolio, select Yes for “Set Re-Entry Alert.”
  • Click the OK button.

Once completed, the existing position will be updated to subtract number of shares, and the sold shares will be found on the Closed Positions page.

Related Articles

Closed