Closing a position instead of deleting it will keep a record of your gains and losses on your “closed positions” page.
IMPORTANT: Sold positions (partial or complete) that are synchronized should update automatically. It can take 1 to 4 days for these positions to update.

To close an entire position that has been sold, take the following steps:

  • First, click on the Positions & Alerts tab (1) in the main menu at the top of the page.
  • Next, click on the Positions tab (2).
  • Then, click on the down arrow in the Actions column. Click on Close Position (3)
  • Select “Close Position” (4)

click the triangle and click close

The Close Position window will display as follows:

close position form

  • Enter/edit the Close Date (1). It will default to today’s date.
  • Next, enter the Close Price (2).
  • Then, enter the Brokerage Commission, if applicable (3).
  • If you would like to set a Re-Entry Rule alert on this position and have it entered into your Watch Portfolio, select Yes for “Set Re-Entry Alert” (4).
  • Click the OK button (5), and the position will be moved to the Closed Positions page.
The entry date listed on the “Re-Entry Watchlist” will be the day after one closes at the broker. If one closes it manually, then it should be reflected as the day they close the position in TradeStops.
Related Articles

Closed