It is easy to manually close positions.

IMPORTANT: Sold positions (partial or complete) that are synchronized should update automatically. It can take 1 to 3 days for the positions to update.

click triangle and click close

To close a position that has been partially sold, take the following steps:

  • Click on the Positions & Alerts tab (1) in the main menu at the top of the page.
  • Next, click on the Positions tab (2).
  • Then, click on the down arrow in the Actions column. Click on Close Position (3), and the Close Position window will display as follows:

fill out the close form

  • Enter/Edit the Close Date. It will default to today’s date.
  • Next, enter the Close Price.
  • Then enter the Brokerage Commission, if applicable.
  • Click to place a check mark in the Partial Close box (1).
  • Enter the number of Shares To Sell (2).
  • If you would like to set a Re-Entry Rule alert on this position and have it entered into your Watch Portfolio, select Yes for “Set Re-Entry Alert.”
  • Click the OK button.

Once completed, the existing position will be updated to subtract number of sold shares, and the shares sold can be found on the Closed Positions page.

Related Articles

Closed